Utah Newborn Safe Haven has a toll free hotline available 24 hours, 7 days a week. Representatives are here to help.
The Utah Newborn Safe Haven Project
Saving newborns from injury or death by providing a safe place for the newborn, and anonymity for the parent, is a priority to Utahns. The safe haven law, passed in 2001, allows birth parents to anonymously give up custody of their newborn child at any 24-hour hospital in the state of Utah, no questions asked.
Utah's Safe Haven Law
Utah Code Ann. Sec. 62A-4a-802
A parent or someone on behalf of the parent can safely and legally give the newborn child to hospital staff, as long as the newborn doesn’t show signs of abuse or neglect.
Hospital staff will accept the newborn child and they may ask if a medical history is available.
Giving a medical history is optional. Hospital staff will offer a form to fill out if the parent wishes to provide medical information about the newborn.
Hospital staff will provide medical care to the newborn and will notify Utah Department of Human Services Division of Child and Family Services.
Hospital staff will prepare a birth certificate for the newborn and file the paperwork with the Utah Department of Health Office of Vital Records and Statistics.
Utah Division of Child and Family Services will assume care and custody of the newborn and will make sure that the newborn has not been identified as a missing child.
Utah Division of Child and Family Services will immediately place the newborn into a potential adoptive home and will file a petition to end parental rights.
Utah Division of Child and Family Services, with the Utah Department of Health Office of Vital Records and Statistics, will do a search within the Paternity Registry for unmarried biological fathers.
See the actual law